Skip to main content

Who We Are—

Meet the Board & Staff


  • Amy Breault – Executive Director

    Amy took on the role of Executive Director in July 2005.  As ED she is responsible for providing professional leadership necessary to ensure the development and expansion of the human and financial resources necessary to carry out the organization’s mission of improving the quality of life for children and families in Horry County. 

    She enjoys spending time outdoors going kayaking, hiking, and fishing.  She and her husband, Joe, are completing visits to SC State Parks to obtain the designation of Ultimate Outsiders.

  • Melissa Vlasaty – Program Coordinator
    Melissa Vlasaty – Program Coordinator

    Melissa joined HCFS in August 2011 as Facility Quality Enhancement Technical Assistant.  She then transferred to the Program Assistant.  She became Program Coordinator in 2016.   As Program Coordinator, she ensures that HCFS-funded programs achieve their goals and objectives.  

    As a former Director and Preschool teacher, Melissa brings with her over 20 years of experience in the Early Care and Education field. She is a native of Horry County and is passionate about the children and families we serve in our community. Melissa and her husband Bob share four wonderful children together and love to travel.

  • Deanna Wilson – PAT Program Supervisor
    Deanna Wilson – PAT Program Supervisor

    Deanna joined the Parents As Teachers program in November 2019 as a Parent Educator.  She assumed the role of Program Supervisor in July 2019.  As program supervisor, she ensures that the PAT program is implemented to fidelity.

    She has worked with families and children in some capacity for over 30 years and loves supporting families of all ages and stages of life.  Prior to moving to SC, she lived in Kentucky and was a social worker. Although Deanna is a true Kentucky girl she loves living in South Carolina!  She and her husband have three grown sons and an amazing, energetic grandson. She loves cooking, listening to audiobooks, exploring new places, trying new foods, and spending time with her family and friends. 

  • Gloria White – ECE Program Specialist
    Gloria White – ECE Program Specialist

    Gloria has been a part of the HCFS staff since October 2011.  She recently took on the role of ECE Program Specialist.  Previously she served as a Parents As Teachers Parent Educator. 

  • Rachel Roark - PAT Parent Educator
    Rachel Roark - PAT Parent Educator

    Rachel joined the Parents As Teachers program in November 2021 as a Parent Educator. Rachel has her associates in Early Childhood Education and her bachelor's degree in Human Development and Family Studies with a minor in Counseling. Rachel moved from the Midwest, where she was born and raised, to South Carolina in September 2021. Rachel previously worked with young children in childcare centers and as a social worker in Indiana. Her passion is to help children meet their developmental milestones and advocate for families in need of services. In her spare time, she enjoys spending time with her friends, family, and her dog, Emmie.

  • Brittany Hernandez-Guerrero - CHW
    Brittany Hernandez-Guerrero - CHW

    Brittany was born and raised in Georgetown County where she still resides with her husband, three boys, and her doggy girl.  She enjoys rural life but also loves to travel and learn about other cultures.  

    Throughout her career, she has focused on supporting the needs of the community.  Becoming a community health worker (CHW) comes naturally as she has always been a community leader for Spanish-friendly resources like doctor's offices.

  • Guanessa Smith - ECE Program Specialist
    Guanessa Smith - ECE Program Specialist

    Guanessa is from Greenville, North Carolina, and she started her career in Early childhood education in 2009. She has now earned her Masters in ECE and has served for over 13 years in the ECE field as a teacher, assistant director, parent educator, and college professor. She is a certified trainer with SC endeavors.

    She married her husband and moved to Horry County for his career; they now have three amazing boys. She enjoys sports with her sons, church, and traveling with family. ECE has always been a passion for her, and she believes that sometimes a smile is all needed to help someone have a brighter day!

AmeriCorps Members


Elected Members

Family Education, Training, and Support

  • Tina Winesette

Childcare and Early Childhood Development/Education Provider

  • Jen Cusack
  • LaTonya Vereen
  • Sabrina Long

Non-Profit Organization that Provides Services to Families and Children

  • Mallory Laravie  
  • Jennifer Nassar, Treasurer – Personnel Committee Chairperson

Parent of Preschool Children

  • Stacy LoCascio 

Appointed Members

  • Dr. Karen Vassell 
    Head Start/Waccamaw EOC
  • Debi Coburn, Compliance Officer & Secretary 
    HC Dept. of Social Services
  • Angela Grissett, Vice Chairperson
    SC DHEC – Pee Dee Region
  • Lynn McKiernan, Board Chairperson - Program and Grants Committee Chairperson
    Horry County Library
  • Tammy Martin 
    Horry County Schools
Close Menu